AGAINST ME! To Release New Album Later This Year

AGAINST ME! To Release New Album Later This Year
American rock group Against Me! have announced that their new album, Shape Shift With Me, will be released later this year on September 16th (via Total Treble / Cooking Vinyl Australia).

Shape Shift With Me acts as a highly anticipated follow-up to their previous critically acclaimed studio album, Transgender Dysphoria Blues. Frontwoman Laura Jane Grace had this to say about the new album:

“Tons of people have written about love. But while love is cliché, it’s infinitely relevant. For me, having always been in a punk band that was expected to be political, I never felt like I had that option to write about feelings in that way. That’s what I ended up being drawn to this time. It’s writing in a way I thought I could never write before, and not giving a shit about expectations […] Is there a record that is about relationships from a trans perspective? There needs to be more records about trans rights and everything like that, but feeling like I already did that, I wanted to move on to write commentary on living from a trans perspective. I wanted to write the transgender response to the Rolling Stones’ Exile On Main St., Liz Phair’s Exile In Guyville and the Streets’ A Grand Don’t Come For Free. All those records are relationship records. There’s been an infinite amount of records talking about what love means from a cisgender perspective. I wanted to present the trans perspective on sex, love and heartbreak.”

Grace has also announced the upcoming release of her memoir titled TRANNY: Confessions Of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout. The memoir details Grace’s search for her identity and true self, and reveals the obstacles the vocalist experienced and overcame on her journey to gender transition.

Recorded, mixed, and engineered by a guy named Marc Jacob Hudson (Taking Back Sunday, Saves The Day) Shape Shift With Me will be Against Me!’s seventh full-length album, and is a record about that goddamn thing called love.

You can check out the track list and album artwork below. Shape Shift With Me is also available for pre-order here (you’ll also get the track ‘333’ as an instant download).

against me! shape shift with me

Shape Shift With Me track list:

01. ProVision L-3
02. 12:03
03. Boyfriend
04. Crash
05. Delicate, Petite & Other Things I’ll Never Be
06. 333
07. Haunting, Haunted, Haunts
08. Dead Rats
09. Rebecca
10. Norse Truth
11. Suicide Bomber
12. All This (And More)

AGAINST ME! To Release New Album Later This Year
Rate This Post (100%) 1 vote
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterGoogle+Share on StumbleUponShare on RedditEmail to someonePin on PinterestShare on LinkedInDigg thisshare on Tumblr
Share This Post
Lauren Blake

Latest posts by Lauren Blake (see all)

Related Posts